Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Famous by Default by M.K. Harkins Review

Displaying Famous-by-Default-FINAL.jpg
The Cover:

Basics: Famous by Default was released on April 5th, 2017 and is 318 pages long. 

Description: Jax doesn't want to be famous. Stalked by rabid fans and the paparazzi, he dreams of better days when things were normal. But those days are gone. No one can stay under the radar if you're from the Jaynes family. He doesn't trust anymore.

Sivan doesn't have a family. As a part of the foster care system, all she wants is to finish doing her time and move out and on. She doesn't love anymore. Jax and Sivan are thrust together on a small-town farm in Mount Vernon, Iowa. They take an immediate dislike of one another, trying at every opportunity to trip each other up. They don't want to acknowledge they might be more similar than they first thought.

 Will they stay stuck in their past, hanging on to their lack of trust and love? Or can they change before it's too late?
Overall thoughts: Famous By Default took me by complete surprise! This book made me laugh, cry and feel things that I haven't felt for a long time. Harkins story is heartfelt and honestly I wish the characters in this book were real so I could hug them. Famous by Default is definitely a very emotional and feel good read and I am very thankful I was given the opportunity to read this book because I really did love it and honestly who doesn't love a good read and a good cry? I loved, loved, LOVED this book and M.K. Harkins definitely has a special place in my heart after this book. 

Couple Chemistry Rating: 5/5 Shells

Favorite Quotes: "A princess? That was a stretch. I shook my head, and a laugh escaped. I didn't think Disney had my version. But, oddly enough, the little girl inside me started to wake up." -Sivan 

"I know what it's like to battle against life, against darkness. I'm here to tell you this: you can win." -Betty

"I don't want you to hold back because of fear. That's not living." -Betty

"I'm scared Jax. More like terrified." "That's how you know it's real." -Jax and Sivan

My Rating: 5/5 Shells
About M.K. Harkins:
MK has always been a voracious reader. After hitting a dry spell of reading material, she decided to write the kind of book she'd like to read. This resulted in the creation of her debut novel, Intentional. (Award for Best Sweet Romance - eFestival of Words- August 2014)

Unintentional, the second book in the series, is based on the life of one of the characters in Intentional (Cade - an engineer/rock star). Unintentional was written as a stand-alone book.

Breaking Braydon, another stand-alone book, is now available on Amazon. 

Taking Tiffany (A spin-off) is available now.

MK is currently working on a paranormal romance - The Reader. Due out 2016.

When she's not writing novels, she likes to spend her free time traveling the world, splashing in mud puddles (She lives in Seattle, what can she say?), watching movies and reading (!)

Connect with M.K.:

Trailer: | Giveaway <--enter here

No comments:

Post a Comment